New Hampshire Court Records
What are New Hampshire Traffic Tickets?
In New Hampshire, road users who violate road traffic laws are issued a traffic ticket/citation by officials of the New Hampshire Department of Safety. Offenders are typically required to respond to these allegations on the ticket within a specified period. Where the traffic offender does not reply to the traffic ticket on time, the individual may incur additional fees, suspension of license, or other court sanctions like a bench warrant.
Traffic ticket payments are received by the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles. The Division of Motor Vehicles through the New Hampshire Department of Safety is in charge of maintaining all forms of documents related to using the road in New Hampshire. Records generated from traffic issues within the state are public records except the court says otherwise.
Records that are considered public may also be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching more straightforward, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:
- The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
- The location or assumed location of the document or person involved
Third-party sites are independent of government sources and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party sites may vary.
What Does a Traffic Citation Mean?
A traffic citation is an official notice containing information on an individual’s traffic offenses and an order to appear in court. According to New Hampshire Statutes Chapter 261, Chapter 263, Chapter 264, and Chapter 265, some of the traffic offenses that could lead to earning a citation in New Hampshire include:
- Driving with an expired vehicle registration or without any registration
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Making an illegal u-turn
- Goes over the speed limits of 30 miles per hour in an urban or business area and exceeds the limit of 10 miles per hour in a school zone
- Driving without a license or driving with a suspended license
- Reckless driving which might cause a threat to life and property
- Leaving the scene of an accident where someone had died as a result of driving
How Do I Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Hampshire?
Once a driver admits to being guilty of a traffic offense, they may opt to pay the fine indicated on the traffic ticket. Payment of penalties should be done within 30 days from the date the ticket was issued. Fines can be paid by mail, in-person, phone, or online.
A traffic ticket in New Hampshire typically contains information on how to pay the fines attached by mail. After carrying out the instructions, the evidence of payment should be sent to the New Hampshire Department of Safety. The mailing address is:
New Hampshire Department of Safety
PO Box 472
Concord, NH 03302
Individuals who have been issued a traffic ticket in New Hampshire may visit the Division of Motor Vehicles under the New Hampshire Department of Safety to clear the payment. The address is:
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
New Hampshire traffic violators can also pay fines by calling the New Hampshire Bureau of Financial Responsibility at (800) 272–0036. A debit card or credit card is required to pay fees by phone. Payments can also be made online, provided it is within the 30-day limit. The individual is not required to show up in court before making the payment.
Can You Pay New Hampshire Traffic Tickets Online?
Yes, New Hampshire traffic tickets or citations can be paid online as long as the general requirements are met. To be eligible to pay New Hampshire traffic tickets electronically, the traffic violator must admit guilt or plead guilty, make the payment before the 30 days grace period expires, and if it was not stated on the ticket for the individual to appear in court.
How do I Pay a Ticket online in New Hampshire?
The process of making a payment for a fine attached to a traffic ticket in the State of New Hampshire is uniform. It requires the individual to pay through the Division of Motor Vehicles’ Online Payment System. The steps involved in settling traffic ticket online include;
- Type in the personal information requested.
- Choose from the ranges of offenses the one listed on the ticket issued, and the amount to be paid will be revealed. If there is a disparity between the amount on the ticket and the amount listed presented, contact the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles.
- Enter the guilty plea.
- Choose the payment option and enter payment details before hitting submit.
Upon submitting, receipts are sent to the email address provided. If the receipt indicates ‘confirmation of payment,’ then the payment has been accepted. However, if the receipt states’ declined transaction,’ the driver can try again later. If it persists, the best action to take is to make payment for the traffic ticket in person at the Division of Motor Vehicles.
What is the New Hampshire Traffic Ticketing System?
In the same manner, like other states in the United States, New Hampshire uses a uniform point system to classify violators of traffic laws. The amount of points accumulated by a road user equals the length of the suspension, which could be up to a year, and it is relative to the age of the offender as well. Additionally, the demerit points also determine if a traffic offender will appear in court. Following Saf-C 212.03, points assessed and some of the corresponding offenses include;
- One Demerit Point: Failure to renew a driver’s license, obey inspection requirements, and operating a vehicle without having a registration certificate.
- Two Demerit Points: Unregistered vehicle, failure to produce a permit to be inspected by law enforcement officers, disobedience to police officers, and littering.
- Three Demerit Points: Disobedience to traffic control devices, following too closely, driving on a sidewalk, and failure to display plates.
- Four Demerit Points: Speeding, improper passing, negligent driving, and yellow line violation.
- Six Demerit Points: Possession of master keys, manslaughter as a result of driving a vehicle, school bus violation, reckless driving, driving while under the influence of drugs or liquor, and vehicular assault.
In most traffic violation cases, the fines can be paid without appearing in court. However, some violations require that the violator make an appearance in court because of the offense’s seriousness or recurrence. Offenders may also go to the traffic court is to either ask for a mitigation hearing to get a reduced fine, a monthly payment plan, community service, and to contest a ticket. The Circuit Court in the County where the ticket was served is in charge of such cases.
To request a trial, the individual should tick the not guilty box at the back of the ticket and mail it to the ticket’s address. The date and time will then be fixed and sent back to the requestor. When in court, the traffic violator gets the opportunity to present the case to a judge, then a decision will be made, which could either be finding the driver guilty or not. The fine will be dismissed if the individual is not liable. If proven guilty, the offender pays the attached fine, court filing costs, and a license suspension. Motor Vehicle Violations document prepared by the New Hampshire Department of Safety, contains traffic violations and the penalties attached.
How Do I Know if I Have a Traffic Ticket in New Hampshire?
A driver should obtain a driving history record to confirm if a traffic ticket has been issued. Individuals must complete a record release form to get a driving history record in New Hampshire. When filling the New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Record Release Form, select “driver record” as the entreated information. The applicant should correctly write the full name, date of birth, license identification number, mailing address, and phone number. As a requestor, a signature and date are required on the form before submitting, along with a payment of $15. Payment can be completed at any of the Division of Motor Vehicle Offices in the state. The completed form and the proof of payment should be mailed to:
N. H. Dept. of Safety
DMV - F. R. Records
23 Hazen Drive
Concord NH 03305
In New Hampshire, it is possible to receive a copy of a driving history record on behalf of the bearer, but it must be indicated on the request form. When filling the application, the third-party should tick the box that shows the individual has approved the request, and provide other details of the bearer such as name, date of birth, and the license identification number. The requestor is also required to put down some personal information, sign, and write the date. However, the record holder must append a signature to acknowledge that the third party can receive the driving history record. The completed form and the appropriate fee of $15 are to be submitted in-person or mailed to the Division of Motor Vehicle office at Concord as that is the only office that processes such requests.
How Can I Find a Lost Traffic Ticket in New Hampshire?
Depending on whether an individual involved recalls details about a traffic ticket or not, two methods can be used to find lost tickets in New Hampshire: contacting the traffic court or sending a request to the Bureau of Financial Responsibility. Reaching the traffic court remains the best method to retrieve details of a lost traffic ticket in New Hampshire. The traffic offender should visit or call the court that handles traffic violation matters in the area where the ticket was received. All that is required is for the driver to remember the location the traffic ticket was issued. A written request can be made to the Bureau of Financial Responsibility if the individual can remember some information on the traffic ticket issued. When writing the request, details to be included are; full name, date of birth, the law enforcement agency that issued the ticket and where it was issued, the traffic offense committed, a guilty or not-guilty plea, signature, and payment evidence (if pleading guilty). Then the letter should be sent to:
N. H. Department of Safety
P. O. Box 472
Concord, NH 03302
How Long Does a Traffic Ticket Stay on Your Record in New Hampshire?
Per the Saf-C 212.03, the Division of Motor Vehicles retains the authority to assess demerit points for traffic offenses and violations depending on the crime’s severity. The number of points assigned for breaking traffic laws will reflect on a driver’s record for three years, starting from the violation date. However, warning notices are not included in a person’s driving history record.
Is a Summons Worse Than a Ticket in New Hampshire?
A summons is a court order issued to an individual to appear before a court to answer a traffic violation. A traffic ticket does not require an offender’s presence in the court, provided the fine written on the ticket can be paid. In the case of the summons, the court may assess a different fine separate from the standard fee charged for the violation. Failure to comply with a traffic summons may result in the suspension of a driver’s license. Hence, traffic summons attracts higher penalties than a traffic ticket.